Tofu Bolognese and more Peasant Food!

I don’t know how anyone could really love tofu. In its natural (well, supermarket) state it’s nothing more than a gelatinous ball of squishy paper. I stay away from it for a majority of my shopping trips but there are rare occasions when I think tofu really works (I mean actually tastes like food and not a gelatinous ball of squishy paper)–my beefless-bolognese is one of them. This is tofu you’ll actually enjoy eating.

I cooked this tofu bolognese for the first time one week ago and I couldn’t wait to make it again. The first time, I sautéed the veggies (onion, garlic, red and green peppers and mushroom) then added real homemade Italian tomato sauce with tomato, garlic and basil for a quick simmer. This week I decided to make the tomato sauce myself, then added veggies that were sautéed on the side. Tossed with gluten-free Fusilli, it definitely satisfies any meat-void.

The bolognese lasted me through the weekend which was otherwise filled with Peasant Food. When Saturday morning rolled around I scanned my kitchen and found eggs, avocado, cranberries, mixed nuts and seeds. My protein-punched brunch was a simple construction of fluffy egg whites and fresh avocado topped with dried fruits, nuts and seeds (or any trail mix). I know trail mix on avocado sounds like a mess but try it, the buttery avocado adds a nice layer of texture to the chewy fruit and the crunchy nuts. With less than three minutes to prepare and using only three ingredients this recipe is a Peasant Food win!

TOFU BOLOGNESE WITH GLUTEN-FREE FUISILLI

Tomato Sauce

2 tomatoes diced

4-5 cloves garlic sliced

1/2 pkg organic firm tofu, cumbered

1 small onion chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

dried oregano

crushed chili flakes

dried or fresh basil

salt and pepper to taste

Veggies

1 red pepper diced

1 small zucchini diced

1 carrot chopped

1 pkg baby bella mushrooms diced

1 tbsp coconut oil

1. Tomato Sauce: Sautee onions until translucent. Add garlic, sautee 1 minute then add tomato and sautee until softened. You can mash the tomato after they soften a bit to move the process along. Add tofu and simmer for 15 minutes.

2. In a separate pan, sautee mushrooms 3-4 minutes. Add carrots and sauté 2-3 minutes. Add peppers and zucchini, sauté 2 minutes.

3. Add veggies to tomato sauce and combine. Serve on top of cooked pasta.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tofu Bolognese and more Peasant Food!

  1. Gem says:

    Love both ideas and the avocado trail mix sounds good! Also love that you made your own tomato sauce.

    Like

Leave a Reply

