Carrot and Zucchini Falafel

I would be an awesome contender on Chopped. I think well on my feet and I have a magic fairy that follows me around the kitchen making sure that all the cockamamie things I throw into the pan come together in the end.  Not to mention, all the other players will love me because I’ll be the first one to chop a finger off–I dice better in concentration. While I sit here waiting for Ted Allen to show up in my kitchen with a basket of mystery ingredients, this is the recipe that makes me feel like a Chopped Champ.

Don’t ask me how to make this because well, I don’t really remember. I started throwing things together not knowing where it was headed and really hoped for the best. Plus, I had a guest over and was praying not to mess it up. Can you imagine how embarrassing it would be to have a food-based website and cook something that tastes like cardboard? Eeek–the thought makes me cringe!

What I love about this falafel is that it swings far away from the traditional chickpea variety (my digestive track has never been happier) and it’s gluten-free. My Carrot and Zucchini falafel is made with grated carrot, zucchini, brown rice crumbs, cilantro, lemon and lime juice and lots of Moroccan spices. Just when you think it doesn’t get any better, it’s sautéed and not deep-fried like the traditional. Of course that wasn’t the initial intention, I failed twice before I finally got this one right.

So, are you feeling a little Chopped Champ-y yet? Try this recipe out, let me know what the magic fairy brings to your kitchen.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Carrot and Zucchini Falafel

  1. Gem says:

    Lmao please don’t chop off a finger but yes!!! A must try if only to see what veggies and spice combination can a sautéed falafel make 😉

    Like

  2. […] on many occasions expressed my love of Chopped, my ultimate fantasy of standing before a basket of mystery ingredients with a pantry of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

