Thai Coconut Soup

My bowl is still steaming as I type. This is simple and quick Thai Coconut Soup in real time.

My goal is to finish this before I can clean out my soup bowl, and I’m pretty close to it. Thankfully, I went with my instinct and jotted down the recipe while I was cooking (I learned from this post).

This is the fastest Tom Kha Gai soup I’ve ever made and by far the simplest. I used Whole Food’s 365 Organic Coconut Milk which has the most coconut flavor of any canned version I’ve tried and a delicious cream that rises to the top. I must have eaten half of it before I poured the rest into the pot. Those cute little funghetti are straw mushrooms in sunflower oil, but I rinsed off the oil before cooking.

Dammit, my soup bowl’s almost empty, gotta jet! And yes, that’s a whole hunk o’ pepper floating in my bowl, I like it spicy!

Thai Coconut Soup

1 can coconut milk (I used Whole Food’s Organic 365 coconut milk)

2 cups water

1 small onion, chopped

¼ lime, juiced and peeled

1 tbsp lemongrass chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tsp ginger

½ cup mushroom sliced (if using large mushrooms)

¼ tsp peppercorn

1 whole bird chili pepper (optional)

cilantro and basil leaves for garnish

salt

 Method

  1. In a mortar and pestle, or a food processr, grind lemongrass, garlic, lime juice, ginger, peppercorns and salt into a paste.
  2. Bring water to a boil and add the paste. Simmer for 2 minutes. Add coconut milk and simmer for 5 minutes.
  3. Add onion, mushroom, and chili pepper if using. Simmer for 15 minutes.
  4. Add lime peel, simmer for 2 minutes. Serve hot garnished with cilantro and basil.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Thai Coconut Soup

  1. Gem says:

    Hmmm, this is one I’ll try and see if I like. I don’t believe I’ve had this soup before

    Like

Leave a Reply

