Butternut Squash Soup: Easier Said than Peeled

With a sudden drop in temperature, I have good reason to make this Autumn soup one last time before Spring warms things up. This is a little Autumn in Spring: Roasted Red Pepper and Butternut Squash Soup (and my favorite tea!).

I love this soup, but it is a pain in the behind to peel butternut squash. In fact, those that live in glass homes shalt not throw butternut squash, they’re freaking hard as rocks. But I don’t believe in buying pre-peeled and cut squash, or anything for that matter. It’s so worth the forearms you’ll build from trying to peel it. The way I see it, lose the skin, lose the flavor. If your pre-cut squash has been sitting around for hours or even a few days, you’re bound to lose some of the delicious juice that adds that little extra something to this soup. But if you really don’t have the patience to peel it, don’t let me deter, I just love the way it tastes freshly peeled.

The other thing worth mentioning about this soup is it’s very heavy; it’s not a starter soup at all. If you’re making it, definitely let it be your star course with a dark green salad on the side. You’ll be stranded on the couch for a few hours if you try to down a bowl of this and an entrée.

On another note, if the soup isn’t enough and you could use something else to warm you up on cool nights like tonight, definitely try a cup of Double Dark Chocolate Mate or really any of the teas from The Republic of Tea.  This stackable trio of rooibos, matcha green and mate is my favorite but there are loads more flavors and combinations to try. As if it couldn’t get better, they carry an extensive line of organic teas! Stock up and when the weather gets warm just throw them on ice.

 

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1 large red pepper (whole, do not cut or peel)

1 small onion, cut into large pieces

5 cloves garlic, chopped

vegetable stock

1 tsp sage

nutmeg

salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp olive oil

optional garnishes: chopped cilantro, parsley or basil

 

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Toss squash and red pepper with 1 tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 1 hour or until squash is golden brown and red pepper is slightly charred (you will need to turn the pepper a couple of times to get all sides).

2. When finished roasting, peel and remove seeds from the red pepper and cut into large chunks.

3. In a pan, saute onion in 1 tbsp olive oil until translucent. Add garlic and sage and saute 2-3 minutes. Add squash, pepper and a few grates of nutmeg (cinnamon is also a wonderful addition). Stir until combined.

4. Add enough vegetable stock to cover ingredients (about 1/2 to 1.5 inches above solids) and simmer 10 minutes.

5. Use an immersion blender or a regular blender to puree until smooth. Be careful when using a regular blender as it will get very hot, it’s best to do it in small batches partially uncovered to let out steam. Serve hot and enjoy!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup: Easier Said than Peeled

  1. Jar Of Salt says:

    Sage has been my fave herb as of late. Since this is one of my fave soups to make, I ought to try your recipe. I make it easy for me by boiling a wedge of squash and then peel after 🙂 I wonder if it this will work for roasted technique?

    Like

    • Rishma says:

      It most definitely will! You can cut it in half lengthwise and roast it whole, then scoop out the meaty part. The only thing is you won’t get the char that you would from peeling and roasting it cubed. I absolutely love those browned bits, they add depth and sweetness to the soup. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      Like

  2. Gem says:

    Okay I thought the empenada post was divine, and it certainly is, but I am a sucker for good soup. The rib sticking kind where the thought of having it as an entree is simply absurd. I must write a note to check out those teas. I have a few in the cupboard, but nothing this creative. I do say it will give my tea press a wake up, and me too!

    Like

  3. […] very best way I know to peel a red pepper for soup is to roast it first. When I’m making Butternut Squash Soup, one of my favorite cold weather recipes, I always roast my red pepper along with the squash, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

