My favorite coffee shop is on the verge of change…

I never gave much thought to scones. At least not until I discovered Inwood’s Darling Coffee and their incredible line-up of pastries and local brew. Now I’m hitting withdrawal if it’s been a few days sans scones, I’m head-over-mouth in love with them! They’re soft, and sweet and covered with magic pixie dust–or coarse pieces of brown sugar, whatever.

I popped in Thursday to have my regular and sit down to do some work but was stopped dead in my tracks by silence, dim lights and a camera crew that had set up shop in the joint. Patrons sat in an awkward juxtaposition from each other and standing in one corner was someone who I identified as being none other than Psy (Gangam Style) hiding behind neon green wayfarers. Blocking my path to the pastry-viewing counter were two crew members. I had walked into a film shoot for Cooking Channel’s Unique Sweets. There I was confronted by a scene out of one of my favorite television networks and I couldn’t have felt more awkward.

Beyond the melodramatic setting and the cameras, the thing that made me feel the most awkward was how unwelcoming the coffee shop felt. I looked over the counter and met eyes with an employee who was helping to prop-up some of the goods for the inquisitive camera. She looked back down and I was left there to figure out whether they were open for business or if I needed to pull out the jazz hands for a full production. Then I realized no scone was worth that amount of confusion, so I walked straight out, head hung in disappointment.

I went back the next day hoping they were finished shooting and I could finally get around to that latte and blueberry scone I missed out on the previous day. Turns out the day after was just as awkward as the day of filming. It would seem that some individuals got word of the taping and eagerly came back the next day in very interesting get ups, hoping to catch a break on television.

There was the woman in a red white flower-print dress, hibiscus maybe, cross-strap black stilettos, and a red rain coat–fitting since itย had been raining since sunrise. She trotted along, back and forth, from the pastry counter to a wooden ledge at the front of the store where she finally took a seat. She looked to be in her 50s and clearly had it out for a spot on TV. Then there was the girl with the purple telephone handset earphone for her iPhone. She wasn’t fooling anyone, I’m sure there was no one on the other line especially since she sat there for longer than I did, holding the thing to her ear, not uttering a single word. There were a few others, sprinkled around the shop, doing something they hoped would attract a camera. Unfortunately for them, but to my relief, the taping was complete and everything would eventually go back to normal.

With my panic of it changing too quickly aside, I couldn’t be happier for this lovely little coffee shop for receiving this kind of exposure. It really is a special place and it comforts me to have it nearby. The owners are doing a wonderful job and I’d say Darling Coffee has firmly planted roots in its new community.

1o Reasons Why I Love Darling Coffee

1. The big pieces of brown sugar at the top of their blueberry scone.

2. Organic coffee and milk.

3. Vegan cookies.

4. Yummy little morning and afternoon baguette.

5. Pour over coffee from Blue Bottle.

6. Simple syrup at the bar for iced drinks.

7. Receiver for dirty dishes.

8. Putting my two favorite things in a scone: chocolate and cherry.

9. Using jars to store everything.

10. It’s just adorable.

This is me. I like scones.

This is me. I like scones.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “My favorite coffee shop is on the verge of change…

  1. Nova says:

    things to do while you are on your purple handset for your iphone and sitting in a nice cafe:
    -wait on hold while the IRS sorts out tax information for your student loan payments (sometimes takes an hour)
    -listen to an hour long webinar you call into while watching it on your laptop
    -participate in some mean espionage, as you’ve figured out a way to tap into the phone lines of fellow coffee drinkers
    -pretend you are on the phone so that you become an interesting character for a witty blog entry (highly unlikely, but hey you never know!).

    Like

  2. urbanodyssey says:

    things to do while you are on your purple handset for your iphone and sitting in a nice cafe:
    -wait on hold while the IRS sorts out tax information for your student loan payments (sometimes takes an hour)
    -listen to an hour long webinar you call into while watching it on your laptop
    -participate in some mean espionage, as youโ€™ve figured out a way to tap into the phone lines of fellow coffee drinkers
    -pretend you are on the phone so that you become an interesting character for a witty blog entry (highly unlikely, but hey you never know!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

